Coastal erosion prevention project

Coastal erosion prevention project

Project to plan a strategy to solve problems
Coastal erosion of 23 provinces in the province

            Thailand has a coastline of approximately 3,148 kilometers. There are two coastlines: the coast of the Gulf of Thailand that has a length of about 2,055 kilometers, covering an area of ​​17 provinces and coastal areas in the Andaman Sea covering areas in 6 provinces, coastal areas considered an important economic base of the country because it is an important natural resource with high biodiversity and habitat for the population. Therefore, it is an area that important to the economic and social development of the country.  According to a study by the Department of Marine and Coastal Resources in 2008, the coastline around the country is approximately 830 kilometers, or about 26 percent of the coastline of Thailand faced with erosion problems, especially in the upper and the eastern Gulf of Thailand. In some areas, the erosion rate is more than 5 meters per year.

  1. To formulate strategies, plans and projects to prevent, solve and / or develop local coastal environments in accordance with the strategy.
  2. To integrate the action plan to solve coastal erosion problems in accordance with various plans That are local, such as the provincial group development plan / provincial development plan / environmental quality promotion plan.
  3. To make the province have a provincial strategy in solving the problems of coastal erosion that is integrated in both the central and local areas of the province. There are plans for the implementation of short-term coastal erosion problems (2013-2016) and long-term until 2027.

            Formulation of a strategic plan to solve the problems of coastal erosion in 23 provinces by dividing the area according to the physical characteristics or according to the terrain that consists of

  1. Eastern Seaboard Area Covering 4 provinces including Chonburi, Rayong, Chanthaburi and Trat.
  2. Upper Gulf of Thailand Covering 5 provinces including Samut Songkhram Province Samut Sakhon, Bangkok, Samut Prakan and Chachoengsao
  3. Lower Gulf of Thailand Covers 8 provinces, including Phetchaburi Province Prachuap Khiri Khan Chumphon, Surat Thani Nakhon Si Thammarat, Songkhla, Pattani and Narathiwat.
  4. Andaman Coastal Area Covers 6 provinces including Ranong, Phang Nga, Phuket, Krabi, Trang and Satun.